Search the Site


Zechariah, The Book of

The eleventh of the so-called twelve Minor Prophets in the OT. The book presents the oracles of the prophet Zechariah, son of Berechiah, who belonged to a priestly family that returned from the exile and sought to encourage the rebuilding of the Temple. The oracles in chapters 9–14 appear to belong to a different period and context.

Outline of Contents


I. God’s words to Zechariah (Zech 1:1-7)

II. Eight visions (Zech 1:8-6:15)

A. First vision: a rider (Zech 1:8-17)

B. Second vision: four horns (Zech 1:18-21)

C. Third vision: a measuring line (Zech 2:1-13)

D. Fourth vision: Joshua (Zech 3:1-10)

E. Fifth vision: lamp and trees (Zech 4:1-14)

F. Sixth vision: a flying scroll (Zech 5:1-8)

G. Seventh vision: winged women (Zech 5:9-11)

H. Eighth vision: chariots (Zech 6:1-15)

III. Words of Zechariah (Zech 7:1-8:23)

IV. Collections of prophetic oracles (Zech 9:1-14:21)

A. “First oracle” (Zech 9:1-11:17)

B. “Second oracle” (Zech 12:1-14:21)